Louisville Metro Government


Louisville is the largest city in the U.S. state of Kentucky, and the county seat of Jefferson County. The city's population at the 2010 census was 741,096 (consolidated; balance total is 597,337). An important internal shipping port in the 19th century, Louisville today is best known as the location of the Kentucky Derby, the first of three annual thoroughbred horse races making up the Triple Crown. Louisville is situated on the Ohio River in north-central Kentucky at the Falls of the Ohio. Because it includes counties in Southern Indiana, the Louisville metropolitan area is often referred to as Kentuckiana. The river forms the border between Kentucky and Indiana. A resident of Louisville is referred to as a Louisvillian. Although situated in a Southern state, Louisville is influenced by both Southern and Midwestern culture. It is sometimes referred to as either the northernmost Southern city or the southernmost Northern city in the United States. The settlement that became the city of Louisville was founded in 1778 by George Rogers Clark and is named after King Louis XVI of France.

United States

Government Administration

View Employees

Harold. Adams
Communications Specialist at Louisville Metro Government
John Dixon
recreational supervisor at Louisville Metro Government
Ashley M. Parrott
Senior Policy & Development Advisor, Office of Mayor Greg Fischer at Louisville Metro Government
Dirk Gowin, PE, PLS, PTOE
Bicycle/Pedestrian Project Coordinator at Louisville Metro Government
Curtis Stauffer
Assitant Director, Office of Housing & Community Development at Louisville Metro Government
Tom Schardein
Sergeant - Louisville Metro Police Department at Louisville Metro Government

Find more contacts